Like it or not, there’s masses of personal and professional information about all of us circulating the Internet. For those privacy conservatives among us, Google has announced a new feature called ‘My Activity’ that allows users to review everything that Google has tracked about their behavior and edit or delete it in whole or in part.

‘My Activity’ also includes a new option for Google's ad tracking. If enabled, it uses all information from your Google account - search, Chrome, Gmail etc. - to improve the ads you see on non-Google services in the abyss that is the Internet. It sounds like a privacy nightmare, but Google has done a good thing by making this tracking ‘opt-in’.

Prevention is, however, always better than cure. So keep an eye on what you’re sharing online and make sure security settings on your social networks are in check.